Blog 2: Paul Simon

 

I read up on Paul Simon and I would have to say that I was very impressed with his music resume. He and his partner Art Garfunkel did some awesome things. Listening to some of his songs, I would say that I like his writing style. That being said, when I was clicking through the lists the song Diamonds On the Sole of Her Shoes leaped out at me. I listened to it over and over again. Dissecting the parts. The vocal harmonies were spot on and the depth of the mixing was perfect. It was phenomenal! They were literally making perfect sound waves. The reverb was perfect. The placement of things in the mix was perfect. It’s hard for me to find the right words to describe how I felt while listening to it. Mr. Simon has every right to be proud of this work. I read that it was controversial for him to be in South Africa at the time, but I could tell that he was really there for the art of culture. That really comes across in the performance.

When I looked to compare this piece with something, the only other track that gave an authentic ethnic performance was Bob Marley and the Wailers. There recording is muddier and definitely not as clear but, it was genuine and I could feel the conviction in the music. It sounded like they were in a closed place and they allowed feedback and everything else to get on the recording.

To me there was nothing else between the two songs that really compare to Paul Simons recording.

Resources

Biography.com. Paul Simon. Retrieved from http://www.biography.com/people/paul-simon-9484431

Songfacts. Diamonds On the Sole of Her Shoes. Retrieved from http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=26084

Ruhlmann W. (n.d.) Bob Marley and the Wailers Biography. AllMusic.com. Retrieved from http://www.allmusic.com/artist/bob-marley-the-wailers-mn0000069402/biography

Songfacts. No Woman No Cry. Retrieved from http://www.songfacts.com/detail.php?id=1744

Leave a Reply

